In our series about Indian festivals we have now reached Eid-ul-Fitr (Arabic language: عيد الفطر, «the feast for the breach”), often named id or eid, a muslim holiday marking the end of the fasting month Ramadan. It is celebrated with prayer gatherings, banquets and by putting on new clothes. It is common to visit burial sites and give gifts and alms (zakat) in connection with eid.

Eid-ul-Fitr - "the feast that breaks the fast", often just called id or eid, is a Muslim holiday that marks the end of the fasting month of Ramadan. The Eid celebration begins with prayer and khutba - the sermon - in the mosque. Then eid is marked by dressing in their finest clothes, eating together, visiting family and friends, sending greetings, and giving and receiving gifts.

Zakat ul-fitr is a fee paid at the end of the fasting that goes to the poor, and expresses comradeship and solidarity with others. The Prophet ordered Muslims to pay this tax in connection with Eid-ul-Fitr.

For practicing Muslims, the holiday begins with prayer even before sunrise (Salatul Fajr). Breakfast after the fast is light and usually consists of something sweet, such as fruit. Since Eid is a time of gratitude and solidarity, it is obligatory, as mentioned above, to show charity and to give a certain amount of food to the poor in line with tradition.

The festival of Eid-ul-Fitr dates back to the time of the Prophet Muhammad. The Prophet told the people that Almighty God had decided that there should be two festivals for Muslims: Eid ul-Fitr and Eid ul-Adha. The latter is a holiday that ends the hajj, the annual pilgrimage to Mecca. There are five pillars in Islam that are the religious duties imposed on both sexes. The five pillars of faith are:

  • 1) The creed (shahada)
  • 2) The ritual prayer (salah)
  • 3) The ritual fee (zakat)
  • 4) Fasting (sawm)
  • 5) The Pilgrimage to Mecca (hajj)


            Quite a few symbols, sayings and descriptions are recognizeable for EID-UL-FITR!



0 item
My Gifts
Empty Cart